Deep Third POV

Deep third POV is a big trend that both readers and publishers are actively seeking, but what is it? I have struggled with this question in the course of both my early editing experiences, and my own writing. At long last I believe that I have a solid grasp on it and would like to shed some light on the subject for others who may still be grappling to understand what deep third is.
Deep POV is third-person subjective taken a step farther. The third-person subjective shows the story through the eyes of one or more characters. Deep POV goes beyond that to take readers into the head and heart of a character, allowing the story to be seen and felt through the characters experiences. No head hopping! One character at a time please.
What first-person POV accomplishes with I narration, deep POV accomplishes with third-person he or she narration.
Therefore, readers see scenes through the viewpoint character, and feel story events as that character does.
Deep POV allows writers to do away with he thought, he felt, she wondered, she saw, those phrases that intrude into the fiction, unnecessarily encumbering a story, and that lead to telling.
With deep POV, readers are in the character’s head not on their back.
One way I have been told to practice deep third is to write a passage in first person POV then change the I’s to he/she pro nouns. Let’s give it a try!
Pouring rain coated my body as I stood frozen at the cliffs edge. My blood pounded through my veins, beating a rhythm in my head. Looking back at him sent a chill coursing through my bones. I had to get away, but how? I looked back over the cliff, took a deep breath, and propelled myself over the edge.
Now the switch:
Pouring rain coated her body as she stood frozen at the cliffs edge. Blood pounded through her veins, beating a rhythm in her head. Looking back at him sent a chill coursing through her bones. She had to get away, but how? Looking back over the cliff, she took a deep breath, and propelled herself over the edge.
Not my best writing, but you get the idea. Now go ahead and practice it for yourselves. I would love to see your results! Leave them in the comments if you want to share.

9 thoughts on “Deep Third POV

  1. I love the thought of writing in First Person (which I hate) and then changing the pronouns. Even if you don’t do this for the whole book it can certainly help if you have a scene you want deeper. Thanks.

  2. “Deep third POV.” Gee, I didn’t know that what I was doing back in ’09 even had a name. A big trend, eh? And there was me, thinking I was just a pantser having fun writing her first novel, when I was really on the cutting edge. Will wonders never cease? I’ll have to add that to my blurb. Thanks for the head’s-up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

